my family is not broken

a new way to view separation and divorce.

the night shift May 10, 2011

I was going to interview newly separated friend when she told me she was housebound waiting for the new bed.

Ah yes, the new bed. Very important.

The year I separated, I tossed my linens and duvet cover, shams and overall bedroom look.   I went from beige and white to a beautiful medium blue with pretty flowers.

My mom came over and we painted it together, found the linens and ordered them very quickly. Like a house on fire, actually. It  lifted me out of a possible daily slump of opening my eyes every morning to the same surroundings that represented my married life.

The importance of these little things is never obvious to us until we change them.

I had no idea. And I would not have thought to do it myself if she had not pushed me to do so.

The bed is where you touched and talked but also where you shut the other out. You might have fought there in the darkness, you may have turned away, scurrying to the far side of that Queen or King. It was too big when things were good and oh so crowded when you were fraught with sadness and difficulty.

We make our bed and lie in it, after all.

there are many inanimate objects that have meaning in my life as slump busters besides the bed- dresses for example- truly the world’s greatest slump buster. Meet my faves by clicking here

 

2 Responses to “the night shift”

  1. robin Says:

    I love the bird nest bed frame!!! Where did you buy it!!! Robin

    • nancy Says:

      a girl named robin should have such a nest! Unfortunately I scooped this pic on line – my bed is blue and not as interesting!


Leave a comment